Day 254. 111 days and $112 left to go.

So today’s piece begins with my dad donning the dress that I will be wearing by the end of the post.  He and my cousin TP (who wore the Hawaiian muumuu from Day 241) thought it would be funny to do my before shots, and in this case I didn’t even do one myself.  Families rule, don’t they?

Day 254 - Before

Day 254 - Before

So this piece had a kimono-esque quality to it.  A little V neck, some drapey/hanging fabric down the sides (which I loved) however it was really too large and too long. Fits my dad, but it’s a little more problematic on me 🙂

My first step was cutting this puppy up!

Trim Town!

Trim Town!

I trimmed the bottom of the piece and cut an extra little bit off to use as a belt!

And a little extra bit to wrap around my waist!

And a little extra bit to wrap around my waist!

I stitched a new hem at the bottom and I was getting closer.

Stitching outside!

Stitching outside!

Instead of taking it in and losing the drapey feel on the sides of the dress, I took my little sash and put it through a little slit that was cut at my waist on my right side.

Sash through one opening

Sash through one opening

I brought it around and did the same thing on the left side bringing the sash around to the back. A little cinching of the fabric and tying a bow and we were golden! (or turquoisey, rather!)

Sash through the other opening

Sash through the other opening

The final look ready for the runway went a little something like this.

Day 254 - After

Day 254 - After

I loved the even more kimono-ish route this was going.  It was flowy and comfortable and I even threw my hair up in chopsticks after a quick bite of a salmon roll at lunch. (I used the extra pair that wasn’t wasabi and soy sauce soaked.)

こんにちは (Hello in Japanese!)

こんにちは (Hello in Japanese!)

My pic in front of the hanging Bougainvillea plant A, matched my dress and B, felt like my own little Japanese garden.  The most zen way to kick off the week!!

56 responses to “Day 254. 111 days and $112 left to go.

  1. This is probably one of my favourites!
    Love your dresses and LOVE this blog. xxx

  2. Waiting in Budapest airport and I’m smiling. You are great. Nice your dad is a good sport and good model.
    Wishing you a great day.

  3. Wow, this turned out gorgeous! Really love how you did the sash!!!

  4. Absolutely wonderful.

  5. Wow. I absolutely LOVE this one! One of my top 5 faves yet!

  6. よくやった!
    (= Well done! in Japanese)

  7. Konnichiwa!
    Oguenki desu ka
    (ka=?)

    (Hello!
    How are you?)
    (in romanji, because my notebook do not write in hiragana/katakana/kanji)

  8. Gotta love Dads!

  9. Gorgeous. Your dad looks great too!

  10. This is brilliant! One of my favorites, I think.

  11. Sewing on the grass – wow! You’re such a pro!

  12. AWESOME! Loved “the dad” in the before shot too.

  13. I love your finished project!!!! Great kimono style!

    Carissa
    http://copiouscouture.blogspot.com

  14. I love this one!! It is really stylish – you DO look runway-ready!!!

  15. This kimono look is so fab…

  16. Love this one. So femme.

  17. i love it!! i want this one 🙂

  18. LOVE this!!! You and your Dad rocked this!!!

  19. AMAZING! Loved it!

  20. Very cool! Do you sew the edges of the slits or do you just let them be?

  21. hey love your blog. you’ve inspired me to look into getting retro dresses at thrift stores and remaking it. here’s my link to the one I just repurposed!

    http://timandlynn.blogspot.com/2010/08/for-how-much-no-way.html

    Lynn

  22. Hello Dear Marisa

    Did you ever see Big Bird Goes to Japan? You do not look like big bird but i did like that movie very much and he wore a kemono and his japenase lady friend had very nice skin. I have a case of oil of olay in my dining room if you would like some…..

  23. Love this!

  24. I love your kimono-ish dress! And LOL at your daddy’s before pic 😉
    One of my favorites too!!

  25. I’m not sure which is more awesome – the finished product or that your dad agreed to wear it first, for your blog? Okay, it’s a tie. Rock on.

  26. i love this! i would totally buy this from you!

  27. Your ability to fix up these dresses never fails to amaze! And your dad rocks. What a good sport!

  28. Just read about your blog on Yahoo! and had to see it for myself. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this piece. You are a very talented young lady who proves you don’t have to spend a lot to look like a million dollars. You have something that the rest of the world needs to see. Whether it be your fashion sense or the fact that you can make lemonade out of lemons. I wish you well in your future. You’re my new idol!!!

  29. Love to see what you come up with every day. You are so talented, thanks for sharing!

  30. This is by far my favorite one!!! I love your out there styles!!! If I could sew as well as you can I wouldn’t be denting my parents budget with my shopping bills!!! I love it, Keep up the good work!

  31. Can you please send a more detailed step by step on the kimono one please!!!???
    I’m absolutely in love with it!

  32. i love this honey! i’m thinking of sewing one for my honeymoon! 🙂

  33. Your dad is hilarious!

  34. tiffany k romero

    LOVE this one! i’ve always wanted to try this style

  35. I would LOVE to buy this ‘kimono-ish’ dress if you ever decide to auction/sell them to donate proceeds to charity. 🙂 It’s flows so beautifully.

  36. Wow u rock these duds into gorgeous. Now Rachel Zoe needs to call you.

  37. I love this DRess!!

  38. This one is soo pretty!


  39. Your blog is so inspiring! This dress is my favorite from what I’ve seen so far. Thanks to Yahoo! I just discovered this blog today – but NOW you’re attached to my favorites bar! Keep up the amazing creativity!!

  40. Also read about this blog on yahoo and came to have a look. I’m impressed I must say! You’re so talented and inspirational. I checked out all your previous blogs and was amazed! So I’ll definitely follow you from now on…God bless!

  41. This is one of my favorite looks. (I just found your blog so I’ve been doing some catching up). I’m thinking about hunting down a similar piece and giving this project a try. Thanks for the inspiration!

  42. Just found you through the yahoo piece. This is such a fun blog! On this entry in particular i love that you sew, cut, whatever OUTSIDE on your lawn!! LOL Very nice natural writing style too. Keep it up till 365!! You’re inspiring me to “just do it”! Thanks!

  43. Cathleen Walker

    How much for the Kimono? My best firend got married in this beautyful custom made kimono for her wedding…..the husband in his $200.00 star trek uniform….Hey. he’s a good husband to her so I can’t complain about the wedding just that I’m never going to be the maid of honor again.>_< Anyway, would love to buy that dress and maybe a few others. Keep up the good work. I need all the window shopping I can get before I buy. Thanks.

  44. I love what you’re doing… Sometimes the cutest clothes are the ones you create yourself! 🙂 Good job!

  45. LOOVVVEEEE this look!!!!!

  46. Waah, Sugoku kawaii-desu! (Really cute!) :}

  47. I saw your website on yahoo and was very excited! I’ve been reading another blog (the daily nail, and fed up with school lunch) who are both doing year long blogs every day, but nothing that saves money like this! 🙂 I see a few of these I think I could do. Off to the Goodwill store tomorrow!

    These are all very beautiful and I spent a little time earlier starting on day one, and catching up to the newest post.

  48. ちょ〜かわいい!
    (very cute in Japanese)

  49. I just came across mention of your site on Yahoo, and I’m just amazed! I love what you’re doing, and you must be one of the most talented people I’ve seen. I look forward to seeing more of your creations, and wish you all the best. Thank you for sharing your inspirational work with the world!

  50. Love it!

  51. too absolutely cute. you pull off every look with confidence. amazing.

  52. My 16 year old daughter and I watched Julie and Julia recently. We both loved it. I think your dress idea is really great. They don’t offer home ec ,exactly, in her high school, so her grandmother is going to be teaching her to sew in the fall. I took it in 6th grade, but the best I can do is make curtains out of sheets. You’re terrific!

  53. really cute!

  54. i’m a new reader but i pretty much looked through all of you blog in the last 24hrs (not all together nonstop but you get the idea) i really love a lot of your ideas and i want them *v* this one is one of my favorites!
    i hope you continue to keep going strong. your work is very inspiring and i like designing clothes myself. so this is so enlightening to just go through and see how you can find the lil jewel in each piece of clothing you find.

    i wish you good luck! i’ll continue to watch you grow!

  55. archibeque' class

    My students think you are awesome….We read about your new dress a day….I hope to some day make my first dress…..

Leave a comment