Day 223. 142 days and $141 left to go.

I don’t know about you, but closing out the work week in something comfortable (muumuu), something cozy (muumuu) and something cute (muumuu) was just the speed for today!  When I found this muumuu, I was immediately taken by the fabric.  Not only is it purple (!!) but it’s got these great little half moon-ish shapes on the fabric…

Day 223 - Before

Day 223 - Before

…that reminded me of a reniform leaf!!

Foliage!!!

Foliage!!!

Yep, those leaves remind me of a being a little kid, because I swear I used one of them to do a tracing/shading art project 🙂 I guess the art project begins again…

First, I’m going short!!

Trim!

Trim!

l really, really disliked the inch and a half collar on the piece, so I just took the whole thing off!

No more mock neck!

No more mock neck!

I also wanted to open up the neck.  It’s summer (even though it’s still overcast here…) and I want to show a little bit of skin.  Yep, I’m literally going to be showing a very little patch of skin.  I trimmed a slit down the center of the neck and pinned it down.

V!!

V!!

l got out my sewing machine and stitched the new neckline, took up the sleeves (made them hit my elbows), and took in the dress about an inch on each side.  Last step was trimming a strip of fabric from the excess to use as a little belt.

Art project completed!!!

Day 223 - After

Day 223 - After

PS, it kind of reminds me of this awesome and $138 dress by Patterson J. Kinkaid at Shopbop.

Lookalike!

Lookalike! (courtesy of Shopbop)

Because of my good grade, my reward was the following…

Ahhh....

Ahhh....

I got to celebrate with the fam over margies and Baja Fresh – always love a low-key Friday night hang sesh.  The dress is under my black wrap, because as the night proceeded and we didn’t move from the backyard, I got chilly as the temps dipped low.  Looking forward to a sunny and warm next few days…fingers crossed!

TGIF!  Happy weekend friends :)

36 responses to “Day 223. 142 days and $141 left to go.

  1. I really like this one. Very cute!

  2. awesome! I think most of my faves are muumuu recreations, I think I’m going to have to go muumuu hunting! whoever thought that a 30 year old would say she wants to go searching for muumuus? HA!

    I too was sipping margaritas last night, my husband makes yummy ones 🙂

  3. Love how you love colors.

  4. That fits you really nicely- I never would have thought a muumuu could look that good. You should have like a “give muumuus a chance” charity or something. Save unwanted muumuus. ^_~

  5. Cute dress. I have been checking out your blog. What do you do with the excess fabric you cut off the bottoms of those dresses? Just was wondering.

    I do think I want to find a few mummus to do over again. You are very inspireing.

  6. Love the colour so much and the print! Hope you have a fun weekend xx

  7. What a freat idea of yours!
    I’m so impressed with all the dresses you’ve done.
    Good job!

  8. This one is great! I love it! Sometimes I wish I could use your leftovers to make dresses/shirt for Brooklyn, lol. I like the bottom or that dress 🙂

  9. I am from Brasil and I loved your clothes, you are so creative!! Congratulations

  10. Looks like ginko leaves.

  11. Hi there,

    I have been lurking on your site ever since I saw it in Bust magazine. It is, as others have said, very inspiring! I think your dress today looks better than the $138 one. That one just looks like a bathrobe but yours looks like a dress.

    Also, I just have to ask–most of your muumuus look like polyester…are they? I would think that fabric would be uncomfortable–at least, I’ve found polyester to be sweat-inducing when it’s hot and totally non-insulating when it’s cold. My apologies if you’ve answered this question a million times before!

    • Yeah, the fabric is mostly polyester which is not fun to wear. I’m a sweat-er and am constantly reapplying the deodorant 🙂 They’re comfortable and flowy but not the most amazing thing you’d want to be wearing on a triple digit day, that’s for sure. I’m going to try and do some without sleeves coming up to assist!! So happy you came on by after reading Bust!! xx

  12. Hello! My friend recently introduced me to your site — I LOVE it and like many others, am inspired to go muumuu hunting!! 🙂 You’re so creative and certainly have an eye for good fabric…

    I was wondering if you could tell me how you make the bottom of the “V” neckline. How do you actually finish off that point? (I hope this question makes sense.) Thanks!

  13. I love the make-overs! I’m thinking that when this is all finished you should make patterns so the rest of us can make cute dresses like you. I’m especially interested in this dress–love it!

  14. I Really like how this one turned out! I’m also curious about what you do with the remnants? It would be cool to see them made into a lap quilt or something as a memory of the last year.

  15. Girl, I saw your criation!!!
    Woo ya so intelligente and criative!
    I luv your clothes!!!!!!
    Success!!!!

    See ya!
    Write me!

  16. Hi! Every since I saw an article in the Grand Forks, ND ,Sunday paper, I have been following your wonderful creations. I tried to leave a message previously, but alas, I’m not too computer savy (I’m 57 years, and my daughter moved out, so my help is gone.) Anyway I have been enjoying all of your designs. Have you ever thought about doing some articles for your friends or perhaps your Mom? You are soo petite that eveything looks great on you. Someone a different size might be a challenge. Sincerely, Peggy H. Bemidji, Minnesota

    • Thanks Peggy! I went shopping today and found a few things for my mom. We’ll get something done for her soon. Love the idea! Sending creativity vibes your way to Grand Forks!!

  17. OK I LOVE this one! Absolutely cute! Yeah, I need to find a muumuu, asap!

  18. This one is just super cute, but please tell me you’ve kept the bit you cut off??! That print is just gorgeous!

  19. I love it!!!

  20. Love your blog!! What and amazing idea…You for sure make it work girl!!!

  21. Looooove the pattern on this. One of my favorite dresses you’ve made so far!

  22. Can you show the inside of a V neck modification? Do you sew up a new yoke or just tack things down?
    Also have you tried any modifications where you making something smaller into something that will fit you now? It’d be great to get ideas to figure out how we can pull some of our old faves out of the back of the closet and give them a few more years of use. Then we can stop waiting to get back to the size we were in college.

  23. I love the style of this dress!

  24. love this dress, really cute

  25. hmmm….seeing the neck on that i myself would have flipped it into maybe a cute cheongsam- like dealio

  26. you’re awesome! i’m fascinated, amazed and entertained! and most of all inspired! loooovvvvvvvvvvvvvveeee everything!

Leave a comment