Day 193. 172 days and $170 left to go.

So you can take a gander for yourself, but I feel like a magician in this piece.

Day 193 - Before

Day 193 - Before

Someone on the design team of this dress/nightgown brand (the tag was unfortch cut out) must have been obsessed with Fantasia and The Sorcerer’s Apprentice bit specifically, as it looks just like Mickey’s crescent moon and star hat.

Is the hat not literally the same pattern?

Is the hat not literally the same pattern?

Ooh, and look at what else came with the garment…

Holy moly!

Holy moly!

Holes!!!  I had some work to do to get this wearable for tonight’s Dodgers game against the St. Louis Cardinals because I gots to wear Dodger Blue!!

First thing I did was get out my scissors to cut straight up and down the nightgown.

Cut down that center!!

Cut down that center!!

I also trimmed off about four inches from the length as well.  We’re going to be doing some jeans this evening, so I didn’t need those extra inches!

I had lots of taking in to do from the sleeves to the body of my new top/cover up.  I put it on and pinned the areas that needed to be tightened up.

Pin it in!!

Pin it in!!

I also had to take care of the raw edges down the center that formed from me cutting it, not to mention a new hem at the bottom of the piece.  After the pins were in place, I plugged in my sewing machine, laced it up with some blue thread, turned on some jams (Marky Mark was on the Jock Jams playlist to get pumped up for the game) and got to work.  I mean how do you not get pumped up when you’re listening to lyrics like these? “Vibrations good like Sunkist, many wanna know who done this.  Marky Mark and I’m here to move you.  Rhymes will groove you and I’m here to prove to you.”

Sew time!!

Sew time!!

Ooh, and can’t forget to get rid of these.

Later not cute ties at my neck!

Later not cute ties at my neck!

My new top was ready to go with the addition of a white tank, my LA hat, and some comfy jeans.

Day 193 - After

Day 193 - After

The night cooled down a bit, so it was the perfect cover up to throw on and watch a great game of baseball.

ECU of my detached collar!

ECU of my detached collar!

Thanks to my girl NK, we had some ridiculous seats just two rows behind the Dodgers dugout.  I mean I literally could have grabbed one of Manny Ramirez’s dreadlocks, that’s how close we were.

MANNY!!!

MANNY!!!

After a Dodger dog and some froyo that came complete with a conversation with Rob Reiner of how I should definitely add vanilla on top of my cup of chocolate (a lovely gentleman who goes with nuts on top of his yog), I got back to my seat and watched the hometeam clinch the game.

Fab Foursome!!

Fab Foursome!!

And I tried to get James Loney’s (the 1st baseman) attention as he was doing some post-game interviews…

Blowing Kisses in the Wind...

Blowing Kisses in the Wind...

…but alas, it didn’t work.  However, who’s got two thumbs and four more months to try??  This gal!!

21 responses to “Day 193. 172 days and $170 left to go.

  1. cute! i think if you wear this again, you should wrap some kind of belt/tie around your waist… that’d be super fun.

  2. Just stumbled across your blog – your re-fashions are amazing!

  3. Before I scrolled down and saw wizard mickey… I totally was thinking you look like a character from Fantasia!! The outfit come looks great!

    Carissa
    http://copiouscouture.blogspot.com

  4. As soon as I saw the top photo I thought “Scorcerer’s Apprentice!” Well done, well done. And as a displaced Dodgers fan, can I just say…jealous?

  5. Wow, not only am I jealous of your being so close to Manny, but the conversation with Rob Reiner-wowee! I love what you’ve done with all of the dresses. You are a seamstress extraordinaire for sure!

  6. godzoned (Debbie)

    very cool.
    I’ve altered a top. its on my blog now… from preggy top to fitted…. just love it now… totally inspired by you of cours.

  7. Just found your blog the other day! I think I’m all caught up on your adventure now! Love your take on refashioning!

  8. Marissa bobissa fee fi fo fissa mar-risssssa! I like that you use the word gander it is a funnie word hahaa. Gander bo bander smander pander. You are a humuruos person marissa.

    ps i miss you

  9. Pingback: New Dress A Day: A West Hollywood girl’s eco-fashionable project to upcycle 365 dresses for $365 in 365 days | green LA girl

  10. just found your blog and love it. i’m inspired to unpack my bernina that’s been in a box for months. anyway…i was thinking one of these gii-normous muu muu’s would make a cute wrap around dress…

  11. Pingback: All Around the World News

  12. Pingback: Turn ugly dresses into nice ones for $1 (Y! Green) | News Directory

  13. Hey! Kind of an odd question though I love the shirt from day 193 it is totally awesome, can you send me more detailed instructions or just maybe sell me the shirt? Ryann

  14. cute!

  15. I just discovered your website and I am in love with it! You’re so creative and inspirational. I am especially in love with this top and would love to buy it.

  16. Pingback: Turn ugly dresses into nice ones for $1 | 花费1美金的丑衣改造计划 » Halliedaily . Hallie的生活与时尚日志

  17. Amazing ! You did the best of all I looked at ….Wishes for you to be on top of the selection. Tons of work in doing a redesign of somthing so Ugly to begin with and so Hip and Cute after you finished. You go Girl and who cares if they didn’t notice you in outfield. You are good at what you did with that funky thing you had to work with. ❤

  18. I swear I’ve seen the before as a maternity top!

  19. Pingback: Turn ugly dresses into nice ones for $1 (Y! Green) | The daily news

  20. Hi! I am totally star struck with your dresssssss!!!!! you are such an amazing woman! you can follow fashion at a very very cheap price. I hope your blog will teach a lot of woman out there to be just like you. I also love dress and it makes me want to study designing and saw making! You are an inspiration.I love every dress you have here.Please continue in what you do and I hope you continue to inspire a lot of people.God Bless always! =)

  21. Hi Marissa! I love this jacket/shirt/multi-functional and fun piece! and I’m loving this blog! btw I actually grew up with Looney (his dad and my dad R good friends)…he’s super nice guy, and totally down to earth. GO DODGERS!

Leave a comment