Day 121. 244 days and $240 left to go.

It’s a tuxedo shirt for us today friends.  Frilly and fance for a Monday, you might say, but why not start the week out with a black tie optional or prom look, right?? When I saw this shirt I knew it was mine.  It was a buck, so I really couldn’t pass it up.

Day 121 - Before

Day 121 - Before

Now, I’ve never owned a tuxedo shirt – I mean, they’re kind of retro and have a more masculine than feminine vibe, but I’m totally down with androgyny.  Less of an “It’s Pat” vibe…

Did we ever find out what Pat really was?

Did we ever find out what Pat really was?

More like the Rihanna, Dolce & Gabbana vibe. (Totally sans a puffy sleeved jacket though – you can really only pull that off when you’re going to the Metropolitan Museum of Art Costume Institute’s Gala and I’m definitely not headed there today.)

Don't be rude boy, I'm in a ruffled shirt!

Don't be rude boy, I'm in a ruffled shirt!

So my main ish with the shirt was that the ruffles just kind of blended in with the rest of it.  Size, rockin’.  Length, rockin’.  But, those ruffles are the best part and they weren’t as pronounced as I would have liked for them to be.  So, out came my trusty dye kit and in the pot went some boiling water, a little mix of RIT’s denim blue and black dye, and my tuxedo shirt.  Out came this…

Day 121 - After

Day 121 - After

Wham, bam, thank you ma’am!!!  I mean, seriously?  RIT dye, I think I may want to marry you.  The ruffles now stand out exactly the way I wanted them to!  I think I’m on the hunt for more of these to transform!

Ruffles!

Ruffles!

I paired my new top with some fave striped jeans from a little trip to the Gap Outlet about a year ago and heels which you cannot see.  It kind of doesn’t matter what shoes I’m wearing, because I’m not taking my eyes off those ruffles.

PS – I’m gathering pieces for an upcoming dye tutorial!  Stay tuned, as we’re going to have a fun day very, very soon 🙂  Just need to grab a few more white/stained/dye-worthy puppies to transform!

16 responses to “Day 121. 244 days and $240 left to go.

  1. Amazing! You’re so creative enough to think of mixing demin blue and black dye. I learnt that Hobby Lobby sells RIT dyes in the store. Looking forward to seeing your tutorial.

  2. That color came out gorgeous! And great fit. A win all around, I’d say.

  3. Love it!!! And I LOVE your writing…I laugh out loud as I read…Keep up the great work!!!!!

  4. ooooh!

    Beyond the dye tutorial, I want an alterations tutorial. Like what stitches do you use for what kinds of fixes? And a step by step of taking in the arms or torso of a dress or a top?

  5. This is one of your best! 🙂

    I’m still waiting for an email from you!

  6. Nice! I just forwarded your blog to my fiance (who you happen to remind me of) … anyway, we’re both fans… keep it up!

  7. I REALLY want to try to dye something 🙂 Thanks for stopping by! Where do you buy your stuff cuz I can’t find anything for $1.00…garage sales?

    • There is this amazing pile sale on Sundays where everything is $1 at this vintage store called Jet Rag in LA. I find tons of stuff there. Thrift stores are trickier, but I usually go to the bins where everything is marked down. Goodwill is worth a shot too. You can always start with cotton shirts – some cheapie Hanes or old T’s you’ve held onto – or even washcloths/towels just to test the waters with. It’s so much fun to see how things change!

  8. i’d definitely appreciate a dye tutorial. i’m just never quite sure what results to expect when dying already coloured clothes. i guess that’s part of the fun of seeing the end results! love your blog, by the way. you’re doing amazing on a tiny budget!

  9. Wow, this turned out awesome! Love the color – it totally changed it (in a good way). Perfect touch.

  10. I really like the finished outfit!

  11. Wow, I LOVE the way this shirt turned out! The color is gorgeous and it looks like any fitted woman’s shirt you could find on the rack somewhere.

  12. love it, love it, love it!

Leave a comment