Day 44. 321 days and $316 left to go.

Now this piece that I’m working with today needed a whole lotta help, if you ask me.  I loved it because it was a silk dress that I scored for a buck.  It was too good to turn down and it was the most perfect shade of blue.  Sigh…  However it had big sleeves, was a little too long and was big not just around the torso, but everywhere.  It totally reminded me of a shirt dress, or one of those tragic 80s silk shirts I’d grab from my dad’s closet (sorry Dad!!) to wear as a kid as I danced to “Walk Like an Egyptian” in the kitchen.

Day 44 - Before

Day 44 - Before

I took in the sleeves, and tightened up the rest of the dress while cutting off about half of the skirt.  It looked like a completely different piece upon completion – giving it a little bit of shape was all that I needed to do to transform it from blech to beauteous.

I took my newly created dress and rolled up the sleeves, added my favorite vintage belt (with a killer gold frog clasp, PS) that I scored at Buffalo Exchange last year, threw on some opaque patterned tights and kicks (black boots tonight) and I was golden!!

Day 44 - After (along with some picture crashers)

Day 44 - After (along with some picture crashers)

The perfect ensemble to rock out to Biggie Smalls, Nelly jams from early 2000, and a little bit of Warren G to celebrate and regulate EK’s birthday.

13 responses to “Day 44. 321 days and $316 left to go.

  1. Love the blog! Sweet outfits you got going on there.

  2. Um, yeah, if you don’t want this anymore, I will totally take it off your hands. AND I’ll double your investment – $2! 😉

  3. HEY! Wow! What a great transformation! Love the blue on your skin colour.

    Great job :). And definitely love the frog belt haha. Cute addition!

  4. Holy cow! This is amazing…look how talented you are!

  5. Where did you get such creative sewing skills. I was excited when I “thinned” the legs of some my son’s jeans for my own “boyfriend” jeans. He’s 6’1″ at 15 y/o so they were “hip” A+F that I had paid way too much to send to someone like you, via goodwill 🙂

  6. Your goal is awesome and I am very impressed! I have couple of suggestions;
    1. take bigger pictures so viewers can have a better understanding of how wonderfully you turned this thrifted item into a piece of treasure.
    2. I need a visual instruction of how you reformed these thrifted pieces (maybe in a couple of posts). I believe you have a experience with sewing machine but for the novice like myself, it would be nice to know how doable it is to follow suit your noble mission.
    3. Share your thrift shopping tips with us and teach us more about its true value and what it means to you.
    4. You’re so pretty!
    Keep up your good work!

    • Thanks so much for the ideas Hyunju! I’m going to put together some tutorials, tips, and “how to’s” shortly, so you can see all the steps. It’s totally doable and you’ll be a sewing champ in no time!

      xx Marisa

  7. I really love that shade of blue! Just…. Ahh! Stunning! Wth the belt and tights, you looke gorgeous!

  8. We are soooo from the same time period….I totally rocked out to “Walk Like an Egyptian” as a young thang too! Ack! Blast from the past! 🙂

Leave a comment